Counting Together: A Fun First-Grade Math Idea

by Kelly Quabeck

I am using this math idea for the first time this year and my first-grade students LOVE it. They actually go up to these posters during math time and use them as resources, which makes me smile!

photo3I have three posters hanging in my classroom, all three of which are hundreds charts.

On the first poster, a bright sentence strip across the top says, “I can count by fives!” On the poster, all the numbers are white. I colored all the numbers by five in a light colored marker.

I have another sentence strip that reads, “I can count by twos.”  On this poster, I have all the numbers by twos colored in a different color light marker, all the way to 100.

On the last poster, it reads, “I can count by tens.” On this poster, I actually took each column and colored it a different color. For example, 2, 12, 22, 32, 42, 52, 63, 72, 82, and 92 are all colored light green. The column of threes (3, 23, 33, 33, 43, 53, 63, 73, 83, and 93) is colored light pink. I did this for each column. When we count by tens I start in different places and go up and down, which teaches my students to count by tens without always starting at the number 10. The colors help guide them on where to go next.

I use a pointer to guide the class in using this poster every day, and the students love to play teacher with the pointer and take turns leading the class, as well. They love it!

Kelly Quabeck holds a master’s degree in education from University of Phoenix. She currently teachers first grade at Russom Elementary School, where she enjoys meeting the needs of her students and watching them reach their full potential.

1 Comment

Filed under Academic Success, Math, Teaching

One response to “Counting Together: A Fun First-Grade Math Idea

  1. Michelle Mello

    That is a great idea. It is very exciting to see students walk up and use something that you are trying to teach them. It is a great feeling once they start to understand.